The One About Xela

Having completed my first week here, including a full day of simply wandering around the streets of Xela, I figure it’s time to share a glimpse of my life here (minus school, which I’ll talk more about later this week after I’ve had my first clinic). So, without further ado, here’s Xela in pictures!

My Xela home!

My Xela home!

My room in Xela.

My room in Xela.

DSCN1230

Typical street in Xela

Parque Central!

Parque Central!

Main Cathedral

Main Cathedral

DSCN1222

Because why wouldn’t you hang advertisements on the old beautiful church?

DSCN1220

Just a pretty building we found…

DSCN1226

La Democracia – a bustling, colorful market that sells anything you can imagine, including avocados bigger than my hand!

DSCN1227

“Almuerzo economico” – Saturday’s lunch special!

Chicken buses!

Chicken buses!

DSCN1233

Walmart really is everywhere..

View from Panorama - a restaurant overlooking the whole city!

View from Panorama – a restaurant overlooking the whole city!

Tomorrow will be my first actual clinic here, now that we’ve had several days of teaching on Mayan medicine and tropical diseases. More on that soon!

Until then,

K

Got something to add?

