The One with the 2012 Recap and 2013 Resolutions

2012 brought a lot of ups and downs for me.

I started out with heartbreak, which was pretty terrible…

Ugh.

But as cliche as it may be, it ultimately brought me closer with old and new friends, helped me sort out who my true friends are, introduced me to new hobbies, and really challenged me to grow as a person.

Yay! Sunshine and rainbows and unicorns and everything is better!

I spent months and months of the most intense studying of my life in preparation for USMLE Step 1.

 

I celebrated the end of boards with my first trip out of the country: to England, Hungary, and Spain (a trip designed to allow me to experience three totally different tastes of Europe in two short weeks).

I visited the set of Harry Potter in London!

I visited the set of Harry Potter in London!

DSCN0270

I explored beautiful Budapest at sunset!

DSCN0521

I ate traditional paella at a cute restaurant in Barcelona!

I finally began my clinical clerkships, which made all of the countless hours locked away in a study room worth it. I’m so much more excited to go to school now that I spend every day meeting new people and learning just as much from them as they learn from me. I met patients who made me laugh, who lost their lives in my care, who supported me, who taught me life lessons.

I started this blog, which now has over 2000 views in less than six short months, despite my best efforts to completely ignore it at times. (Thanks to all of you who have stuck with me!)

And now it’s 2013, and I couldn’t be more excited. In a week and a half, I will be done done DONE with surgery and rejoining life as a real person, and for the first time, I’m challenging myself to several resolutions:

20130101_103143

…complete with a color-coded system for keeping me honest via marks on my calendar.

Bring it, 2013.

Happy New Year, everyone!

2 thoughts on “The One with the 2012 Recap and 2013 Resolutions

  1. Two years ago, I also wrote down things I would like to accomplish. I posted them on a wall in my bedroom and to my surprise, I did most of them by the close of the year. Make sure you post your list, so every once in a while you might glance at it and it will get you back into focus.

Got something to add?

