The One With A Lot Left to Learn

I used to live with friends from college who weren’t in medical school, and one of my favorite things about it was that I could escape from other people stressing out about the same exams, which helped me to moderate my own stress level.

So I was a bit wary this year when I moved to a new apartment with new roommates, including one of my classmates. But he’s on a different schedule than me, so it’s been great. I get to keep up with a good friend who I wouldn’t otherwise see, I have someone who understands and commiserates when I come home whining about long hours or frustrating patients, and I get to trade funny stories of comical patient interactions.

In short, the situation wasn’t the least bit stressful until the other day: I was in the kitchen, and my roommate emerged from his room, neurology practice questions in hand.

“How many of these have you heard of?” he asked, pointing at a list of about twelve neurological diseases.

Kluver-Bucy Syndrome. Meige’s Syndrome. Hallervorden-Spatz Disease. Lennox-Gastaut Syndrome. Shy-Drager Syndrome…

I scanned the book, probably with an expression along these lines:

Umm… what?

“These are all made up,” I declare.

Because there can’t possibly be at least twelve diseases I know nothing about, right?

One thought on “The One With A Lot Left to Learn

Got something to add?

